Page 1 of 2

Cat5e and Cat6 Cable connection to 4506..

Posted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 12:00 pm
by Guest

Hi Experts,I have one server, needs to be connected to 1Gbps speed to Core Switch.On the Core Switch's port, it is a GigabitEthernet...so I have no problem with that.my question is.. What is the different if I use Cat5e and Cat6 to plug in the server to the core switch??Thanks!

Re:Cat5e and Cat6 Cable connection to 4506..

Posted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 12:18 pm
by Guest

HeyI've used both cables before and I think both did the job when connected to 1Gbps ports.But perhaps someone more experienced could addHave you tested them already? have you plugged in both and noticed anything different between them?

Re:Cat5e and Cat6 Cable connection to 4506..

Posted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 12:40 pm
by Guest

Cindy, they'll both work just fine, but go with the Cat-6e if the distance exceeds 80 meters or so. Cat 6e is a higher grade cable and can handle Gigabit data rates at distances greater than cat 5e.HTHVictor

Re:Cat5e and Cat6 Cable connection to 4506..

Posted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 1:29 pm
by Guest

Thanks guys !I will take note of this .. and rated the post..:)

Re:Cat5e and Cat6 Cable connection to 4506..

Posted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 2:36 pm
by Guest

You got it, Cindy.Thanks for the rating.Victor